PHO - Pokémon Hackers Online
Go Back   PHO - Pokémon Hackers Online > Other Generations Hacking > Other Research

Other Research For research regarding Gen III or other hacks that aren't Gen I/II.

Old 12th April 2016, 08:01 PM   #1
streamholder
n00b

streamholder
Default PyKemon Multitool Project

Hello everyone.

First of all, let me introduce myself. I'm a programmer and I've played Pokémon for years now.

Many years ago, I discovered the world of ROM hacking, but I found myself deeply disoriented by the lack of easy-to-use resources that many other games have (think about GTA games or pretty much any mainstream Wii game).

As you all know, there are two main competitors in the Map hacking scene at the moment: AdvanceMap and Map Editor of Happiness.

They both have their problems: on AM's side, LU-HO has disappeared, which means that AdvanceMap is not going to receive the much needed updates/bugfixes anymore; on MEH's side, it hasn't got that much functionality and the source code is a mess, with unused code shoved in classes, horrible hacks, methods with absurd names and is thus not maintainable by anyone else than the original authors (and I bet that even they would have serious problems by now), and seems to have been abandoned.

The thing is, the need for these tools is not dead. Not at all. But neither of the two choices cut it anymore. You have to hack around their problems. You have to use various other tools to fix/change stuff that should really be changed in a real map editor.

Today I'd like to present a new project, which I'm codenaming "PyKemon Multitool", just because the proof-of-concept code I have now is written in Python.