PHO - Pokémon Hackers Online
Go Back   PHO - Pokémon Hackers Online > Discussion > ROM Hacking Discussion

ROM Hacking Discussion General ROM Hacking discussion.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27th October 2013, 11:43 PM   #11
karatekid552
What does this button do?.....
Ex-Staff
 
karatekid552's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Stalker.......
Posts: 242
karatekid552 karatekid552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linkandzelda View Post
The trouble with this is, the weather is drawn in the transparency layer, so it's one or the other, unless there's a way around that?
Isn't water transparent by nature? So, effectively, a transparent look is just fine, or even better.

Let me look at it again in the map layers and I'll see.

Edit: Just checked and rain is drawn as an OAM, so no map conflicts. Now I'll check fog.

Edit2: Yeah, fog definitely conflicts. My code, when a script hits end, resets the transparency on the top BG level. This also affects fog, which is an OAM, making it solid. So, everything behind it can't be viewed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by droomph View Post
mind telling us where we can do this?
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=291356

Last edited by karatekid552; 27th October 2013 at 11:56 PM.
karatekid552 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 28th October 2013, 10:06 AM   #12
mewthree9000
What does this button do?.....
 
mewthree9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: U.S.A.
Age: 27
Posts: 73
mewthree9000 mewthree9000
Default

In theory transparency is nice, but still utterly useless and buggy. We're too addicted to shiny things.

Edit: doing this in NDS hacks would be way more viable.
__________________
-Mewthree9000
We all fight a war within ourselves, a war of greatness, a war to become the best.
LIVE THE REVOLUTION, PHO!
Gotta Hack'em All!!




My current projects:
-Pokemon ChaosBlack[v2]
-!!Elite FireRed ROM Base!!
mewthree9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2013, 02:37 PM   #13
Andrea
Getting there...
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 40
Andrea
Default

this is a little reserach to do this in fr:
open your rom with hex editor paste this byte in the offset 471DEC
Spoiler:

2E 53 00 00 8C 31 5A 67 3C 04 FF 3A 64 06 D2 4B 46 65 14 7B 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

this is the new palette of the textbox
now use this wbto before your message:
writebytetooffset 0x3F 0x4000048
writebytetooffset 0x1F 0x4000049
writebytetooffset 0x41 0x4000050
writebytetooffset 0x3F 0x4000051
writebytetooffset 0xC 0x4000052
writebytetooffset 0x3 0x4000053
this wbto became BG0 semi-trasaprent
well, to don't have bug load new wbto in the same offset with normal byte after message like so:
writebytetooffset 0x1F 0x4000048
writebytetooffset 0x1F 0x4000049
writebytetooffset 0x40 0x4000050
writebytetooffset 0x1E 0x4000051
writebytetooffset 0x10 0x4000052
writebytetooffset 0x00 0x4000053
screen:

hope you like it
Andrea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2013, 02:58 PM   #14
Linkandzelda
RHO つぃちょう
Webmaster
 
Linkandzelda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 303
Linkandzelda Linkandzelda Linkandzelda
Default

Looks cool, does it work when there is weather in the map like rain or snow?
__________________





Linkandzelda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2013, 03:25 PM   #15
Andrea
Getting there...
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 40
Andrea
Default

sure that it works, why do you ask?
the tile of the rain/snow are loaded in the oam so there are no problems ^^
Andrea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2013, 05:40 PM   #16
Linkandzelda
RHO つぃちょう
Webmaster
 
Linkandzelda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 303
Linkandzelda Linkandzelda Linkandzelda
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
Let me check...

Edit:

Nope! (Thankfully:P)

This looks pretty nice, but you say it doesn't work with fog? That's a pity really.
__________________





Linkandzelda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2013, 05:50 PM   #17
karatekid552
What does this button do?.....
Ex-Staff
 
karatekid552's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Stalker.......
Posts: 242
karatekid552 karatekid552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linkandzelda View Post
This looks pretty nice, but you say it doesn't work with fog? That's a pity really.
I can probably rewrite my code to fix the issues with fog. There is actually a bigger issue with fog: fog sits beween the upper and lower maps, right below the player. So, anything that the player goes under, the fog goes under. So, fog looks like crap in a city or area with trees anyways.
karatekid552 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2013, 05:51 PM   #18
karatekid552
What does this button do?.....
Ex-Staff
 
karatekid552's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Stalker.......
Posts: 242
karatekid552 karatekid552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrea View Post
sure that it works, why do you ask?
the tile of the rain/snow are loaded in the oam so there are no problems ^^
Not true, OAM and Map transparency are controlled by the same area of ram. Change one, you change the other. This is the issue with fog.
karatekid552 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2013, 05:53 PM   #19
Linkandzelda
RHO つぃちょう
Webmaster
 
Linkandzelda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 303
Linkandzelda Linkandzelda Linkandzelda
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
Not true, OAM and Map transparency are controlled by the same area of ram. Change one, you change the other. This is the issue with fog.
Yea I'm aware of that, I only use fog in 1 place in LC which is a forest specially mapped to not use any tiles that the player can go under, so that it looks ok. In fact, there's no textboxes in there apart from items.
__________________





Linkandzelda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2013, 08:05 PM   #20
karatekid552
What does this button do?.....
Ex-Staff
 
karatekid552's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Stalker.......
Posts: 242
karatekid552 karatekid552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linkandzelda View Post
Yea I'm aware of that, I only use fog in 1 place in LC which is a forest specially mapped to not use any tiles that the player can go under, so that it looks ok. In fact, there's no textboxes in there apart from items.
The reason my code conflicts, is because when the script ends, the transparent state is reset to the normal default. This norm isn't the same under foggy conditions. So, if I rewrote my code to reset to what was there before, then it would work. I would simply have to store the data somewhere until the script finished executing.
karatekid552 is offline   Reply With Quote
Likes Linkandzelda liked this post
Reply

Tags
textboxes, transparent

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc. User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Pokémon characters and images belong to Pokémon USA, Inc. and Nintendo.
Pokémon Hackers Online (PHO) is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo LLC, Creatures, GAMEFREAK inc,
The Pokémon Company, Pokémon USA, Inc., The Pokémon Company International, or Wizards of the Coast.
All forum/site content (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2006-2013 Pokémon Hackers Online (PHO).
Green Charizard Christos TreeckoLv100

"Black 2" by ARTPOP. Kyurem artwork by XOUS.

no new posts