PHO - Pokémon Hackers Online
Go Back   PHO - Pokémon Hackers Online > Generation I/II Hacking > Guides & Documentation

Guides & Documentation Have a tutorial or a document to share? Post it here.

User Tag List

Old 5th January 2015, 07:09 PM   #1
Pia Carrot
Orange Developer
Administrator

Pia Carrot Pia Carrot Pia Carrot Pia Carrot
Default How to Map: Gen II Style

Right, so I've been working with Gen II graphics for nearly 4 years now, and I've picked up quite a few things in the process of many transitions between ROM Hacking, RPG Maker XP, and just simply Pixel Art.

Now, from time to time I see a Gen II fan project, or a map on DeviantArt, or someone trying to make a Gen II themed hack on GBA. Now, what I don't see, is proper mapping; Single trees, inverted fences, and incorrect searock formations are some of the tile errors I see all the time. So in this guide, I'll be teaching you how to map Gen II, the correct and awesome way

Table of Contents
1--Tiles and Blocks
2--Trees and Paths
3--Fences and Ledges
4--Ocean Mapping
5--Final Words
6--Credits

1. Tiles and Blocks

If you work with Advance Map, or even RPG Maker, you know that blocks are 16x16 chunks of 8x8 tile graphics that you use for mapping. Well, it's no different for Gen II, except that blocks are 32x32 chunks of 8x8 tiles. This was originally made to save space, but it now serves as an iconic reminder of the Gen II Style.

Here's an example:

The original blockset for Gen II is rather limited, with oddities ranging from certain headbutt tree formations missing to a lack of unique tiles for most routes. Many of these can be forgiven in a hack, obviously, but there are some errors that are just plain awful and deter from the experience.

2. Trees and Paths